Vita

Passion, curiosity, willpower, wealth of ideas and curiosity are characteristics that have made Johan Zagers an internationally successful instructor, rider and sought-after coach. For many years, the multiple Grand Prix winner has created a training center that is known far beyond the borders of Germany.
Johan Zagers combines his experience with all aspects of sports science in the training theory. Clinics in Brazil, Australia, USA, Belgium and Poland complete his work and open up new doors for ideas and inspiration. There is a long list of pupils and horses, who under his guidance managed the successful leap into the difficult class and gained success in the Grand Prix Sport.

Important Facts

Growing up as the son of a horse-bound entrepreneur, Johan Zagers already sat in the saddle when he was a child and with the age of 15, he already improved his pocket money with the training of horses. After studying philosophy and religious sciences and two years as a teacher, a serious car accident suddenly made him aware of the great personal significance that the horse sport has for him. The medical prophecy, riding would not be possible for him being 23-year-old, did not let him resign, but stung his will to fight for his passion. After a year and a half, filled with rehabilitation and hospital stays, Johan Zagers was able to get back into the saddle for the first time.
In 1985, he began his training with the internationally successful dressage rider Jan Nivelle at the Mülheim stud school Eschenbruch of the Tummes family. In 1990 he earned his “Bereiter” with Stensbeck award.

In 1994, the native Belgian settled down at the Nothenhof riding facility in Düsseldorf and sealed his self-employment in 1995 with the master’s test, also including the Stensbeck plaque. In March 2009, the entire stable moved to the Reitanlage Pegasus to Wülfrath. After an eventful five years on this modern, very large training facility, the dressage stall moved again in 2014 to the much more compact stables “Henscheshof”, an equestrian facility in Erkrath near Düsseldorf, with optimal training facilities in an ideal transport connection.

This post is also available in: German

Vita

Passion, Wissbegierde, Willenskraft, Ideenreichtum und Neugierde sind Eigenschaften, die den Dressurausbilder Johan Zagers zu einem international erfolgreichen Ausbilder, Reiter und gefragten Trainer gemacht haben. Über viele Jahre hat der mehrfache Grand-Prix Sieger einen Ausbildungsstall geschaffen, der weit über die Grenzen Deutschlands hinaus bekannt ist.
Johan Zagers kombiniert seine Erfahrung mit allen sportwissenschaftlichen Aspekten der Trainingslehre. Lehrgänge in Brasilien, Australien, USA, Belgien und Polen ergänzen seine Arbeit und öffnen ständig neue Türen für Ideen und Inspirationen. Die Liste der Schüler und Pferde, die unter seiner Anleitung den erfolgreichen Sprung in die schwere Klasse schafften und bis zum Grand Prix Erfolge sammeln konnten ist lang.

Wichtige Fakten auf einen Blick

Aufgewachsen als Sohn eines pferdeverbundenen Unternehmers saß Johan Zagers bereits als Kind im Sattel und besserte schon als 15-jähriger mit dem Training von Pferden sein Taschengeld auf. Nach dem Studium der Philosophie und Religionswissenschaften und zwei Berufsjahren als Lehrer machte ihm ein schwerer Autounfall schlagartig bewusst, welch große persönliche Bedeutung der Reitsport für ihn hat. Die medizinische Prophezeiung, die Reiterei wäre für den damals 23-jährigen nicht mehr möglich, ließ ihn nicht etwa resignieren, sondern stachelte seinen Willen an, für seine Passion zu kämpfen. Nach eineinhalb Jahren, gefüllt mit Reha- und Krankenhausaufenthalten, konnte Johan Zagers das erste Mal wieder in den Sattel steigen.
1985 begann er schließlich bei dem international erfolgreichen Dressurreiter Jan Nivelle im Mülheimer Gestüt Eschenbruch der Familie Tummes seine Ausbildung und erwarb 1990 über den Berufsreitertest seinen Bereiter-Titel mit Stensbeck Auszeichnung.

1994 ließ sich der gebürtige Belgier auf der Düsseldorfer Reitanlage Gut Nothenhof nieder und besiegelte 1995 seine Selbstständigkeit mit der Meisterprüfung inklusive Stensbeck Plakette. Im März 2009 zog der gesamte Stall nach Wülfrath auf die Reitanlage Pegasus. Nach ereignisreichen 5 Jahren auf dieser modernen, sehr großen Ausbildungsstätte, befindet sich der Dressurstall seit 2014 auf der kompakten Reitanlage Henscheshof in Erkrath bei Düsseldorf mit optimalen Trainingseinrichtungen in idealer Verkehrsanbindung.

This post is also available in: Englisch